Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Agent Ribbons 5/26/11 - Origami Vinyl, Los Angeles, CA.

Last week, Agent Ribbons played the second Los Angeles-area stop of their current West Coast tour (the first being a few days prior at Bardot) at the Echo Park record boutique destination Origami Vinyl. It was quite an interesting show, if only for the mere fact that bands playing here perform from the shop's second floor "loft," while the audience looks up while situated on the first "floor." (guitarist-vocalist Natalie remarked that drummer Lauren was afraid of heights, and would remain behind her drum kit for the duration of the show, which she did) As we have said before, this is one of many posts we have done on Agent Ribbons, which can be found here, here, here, here, and here.

This evening's setlist was markedly different from the show at Bardot, and included a healthy mix of songs from their two full-length albums, the older "On Time Travel and Romance" and the newer "Chateau Crone." Also of interest was the opener "Shoe Shine Boy" (if I remember correctly, an earlier version of this was performed at their Bootleg Theater show last December) A great way to conclude their run of shows in California for this tour, and we look forward to seeing them the next time they come through town.

1.) Shoe Shine Boy FLAC MP3
2.) Buried With You FLAC MP3
3.) Wallpaper Of Skin FLAC MP3
4.) The Boy With the Wooden Lips FLAC MP3
5.) Grey Gardens FLAC MP3
6.) I Was Born to Sing Sad Songs FLAC MP3
7.) Don't Touch Me FLAC MP3
8.) Chelsea, Let's Go Join the Circus FLAC MP3
9.) Wood, Lead, Rubber FLAC MP3
Text File

Monday, May 30, 2011

Odd Modern 5/20/11 - Casey's Irish Bar, Los Angeles, CA.

(Photo: Odd Modern website)

About a week and a half ago, Odd Modern shared the bill with Seasons at a show we presented at Casey's Irish Bar in downtown Los Angeles. This was our first time seeing Odd Modern, although we saw vocalist/keyboardist Vanina Alfaro sit in with BoxViolet at a show of theirs last November. Odd Modern have been described as an "indie-electro band whose infectious beats and inspired lyrics, hidden behind the duo’s unassuming nature, catches many off guard and straddles the line between the electronic and the organic."

Most of tonight's setlist came from their full-length album "Contrary to Popular Belief", with a couple of selections from "The P.E. EP" and "Odd Mode EP." (all available to download at their website) It was a really fun show, and we look forward to what they bring in the future.

(Recorded by Mark P.)

1.) Oddo Tune MP3
2.) Ana MP3
3.) Running the Mile MP3
4.) Bangalore MP3
5.) Tipsy Dancer MP3
6.) The Wallflowers MP3
7.) A Million Little Pieces MP3
Text File

FLAC (lossless) files available by request.

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Agent Ribbons 5/22/11 - Bardot, Hollywood, CA.

On Sunday night, Agent Ribbons performed at Bardot along with The Good Listeners and Dead Sara. An interesting and unusual venue choice for Agent Ribbons (that unfortunately ended up not working out that well), but the scenery was lovely and the perfect backdrop for their music. Of course, we are no strangers to Agent Ribbons, having made many posts about them before.

As was stated during the show, this was a tour supporting their recent release "Chateau Crone," and half the setlist reflected that (which seemed to have gotten cut a bit short) While nothing new was played, the performances of the songs themselves were quite spirited, especially "I'm Alright" and "Wood, Lead, Rubber" - plus, "The World Is a Cigarette" and "The Boy With the Wooden Lips" made nice bookends to open the set. Fun show, and we are looking forward to the next one.

1.) The World is a Cigarette FLAC MP3
2.) The Boy With the Wooden Lips FLAC MP3
3.) I Was Born to Sing Sad Songs FLAC MP3
4.) Grey Gardens FLAC MP3
5.) I'm Alright FLAC MP3
6.) Bird In The Mirror FLAC MP3
7.) Birds and Bees FLAC MP3
8.) Wood, Lead, Rubber MP3 MP3
Text File

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Seasons 5/20/11 - Casey's Irish Pub, Los Angeles, CA.

(Photo: Seasons Facebook)

Last Friday, we presented the third night of Season's May residency at Casey's Irish Bar in downtown Los Angeles. It was our first time presenting a show, and we would like to thank Seasons for asking us to do so. That being said, we have featured Seasons here before.

This was a notable show because the setlist focused mainly on "older songs," such as "Empty Spaceships" and "Song That You Know" from the "Spring" EP, and "Real Dreams" from the "Summer" EP, along with "Passing Trains" from an older self-titled album. This show also happened to be the first one we saw with their new violinist as well. Really fun show, and again, we are thankful for the opportunity to present.

Recorded by Mark P.

1.) Song That You Know MP3
2.) Empty Spaceships MP3
3.) Islands MP3
4.) Passing Trains MP3
5.) 666 number of The Beat MP3
6.) Lazy Bones MP3
7.) Real Dreams MP3
Text File

FLAC (lossless) files available by request.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Update: Temporary hiatus and Seasons 5/20 show reminder.

Hi everyone. "Real life" has taken over once again, and regular posting will have to take a temporary hiatus until near the end of May. Apologies.

On another note, just a reminder that we are presenting the third night of the Seasons residency at Casey's Irish Bar on May 20th - it's free and the music begins at 10pm. More info can be found on the Facebook event page. Please come out, thanks.